.

How Do You Decide the Best Italian Restaurant in Toms River?

Let us know your favorite

March 2 Update: Thanks to all the 560-plus votes, comments and reviews left on Toms River Patch. It looks like the most votes are Joey D's, with 180; Il Giardinello, with 108, and Villa Amalfi, with 55.

Toms River has no of Italian restaurants. But how did you pick your favorite?

Whether you are looking for frutti di mare or a simple "chicken parm" over linguini, or homemade gnocchi with steak tips or a big bowl of pasta fagiole, it seems the one question that could spark endless debate is the best place to get it in Toms River.

We know with so many great options picking just one is not easy, but that is what we are asking you the Patch community to do. We started with a list of 15 that already had reviews in our Places section, or that were mentioned in comments of previous polls, plus picked from different sections of our very large and diverse town.

So whether you travel from Silverton to Ortley Beach, or Pleasant Plains to East Dover, the variety of Toms River is below for you to vote on. If we missed your obvious favorite, leave it in the comments, vote "Other" or leave a review.

This week's poll is the first of many we will hold to determine your "Patch Favorites" here in Toms River. Voting for your favorite places, starting with your favorite Italian restaurant easy. All you have to do is:

  • Cast your ballot.
  • Tell your friends, family, acquaintances, co-workers, doctors, letter carriers and anyone else you know to do the same.
  • Use our comment tool to tell us what makes your favorite the best. Is the secret in the sauce, is it the crumbled sausage instead of the sliced, is it the friendly service?

The voting goes until 9 a.m. on Friday so you have plenty of time to vote. The winner will be announced at noon Friday. If there is a tie it will be decided by which business has the most positive comments and reviews on their Patch Places page. 

Editors Note: Because this poll is not scientific, it is not the sole consideration in choosing a winner. The winner will be determined by the Patch editor, based on poll results and reviews on Patch Places. Please vote only once per survey, per Patch.

. February 28, 2012 at 09:07 PM
Jules is the best around.
Scott February 29, 2012 at 06:03 AM
How did "Pizza and Panini" not make this list.
Allen S. Tiger February 29, 2012 at 12:18 PM
How did Artisan's Brewery and Italian not make this list???
Allen S. Tiger February 29, 2012 at 12:19 PM
Actually it should be "Artisan's Brewery and Italian Grill" -- Sorry pete, Sorry peter!
Minden Yo February 29, 2012 at 12:47 PM
I guess this is where you cast your vote? Giavanni's, Fischer boulevard. Fresh homemade soups, tiramisu made on site, everything made to order, delicious! Reasonably priced, and is in restaurant.com!
Catherine Galioto (Editor) February 29, 2012 at 04:15 PM
It's on the list. See above list, vote.
Melissa February 29, 2012 at 05:14 PM
Fiore Rosa in Silverton
1stcav February 29, 2012 at 07:36 PM
Down here, Great places are; Il Giardenello's, Villa Amilfi & Villa Victoria....Rivoli's ( Pasta haven ) is Snookie bait , Il Garbage all the way ! Giavanni's on Fisher and Villa Viento in Brick are also good places..Jules hangs in there, in a pinch...as well as Cafe Italia on 37...Not Aqua Blue...whatever were you thinking..terrible , Rivoli's might even be better and that's stretching it >>>>>
George February 29, 2012 at 10:17 PM
I decide by opening my mail and seeing who sent me a coupon each week. Get some coupon ads for "Patch" and I'll buy from them, too! - PizzaFace Pepperoni, Jr.
Mr. ? February 29, 2012 at 10:47 PM
I'll second Jules in Silverton! Made to order and fresh. Sometimes the service is a little slow so bring enough BYOB. the meal will be worth the wait!
just me March 01, 2012 at 12:00 AM
I am in agreement with 1stcav: Il Giardinello's, Villa Amalfi, and Villa Vittoria (in Brick) ....but, I'd also add "Hot Tomato" on Fischer Blvd.
Seriously? March 01, 2012 at 06:31 AM
Tardi's Ristorante (formerly from Pt. Pleasant) just opened up a new restaurant on Fischer Blvd. in Bellcrest Shopping Plaza, next door to Chicken Town. Small, but good food. People may want to try there when looking for Italian.
. March 01, 2012 at 11:46 AM
I have been wanting to try Tardi's as I live nearby. I have heard it was good. I just hope it makes it in the Bell Crest Mall. Villa Vittoria was good years ago when Joe owned it. Since it was bought out, it kind of lost something. Villa Amalfi is also good.
oceancountygrl76 March 01, 2012 at 05:03 PM
maybe its all their customers, like me, voting....i've been to joey d's a few times, and each time the food was on point, the service was great, and the owners were very friendly. they are still new...but if they continue to stay like this, i think they have a very bright future in TR. maybe if you stop in on a friday or saturday night, when theres a wait to even get a table, you'll see the waitresses dont really have the time to stand around and vote all day. but i guess you'd know that if you had ever gone in. this is a fun poll, no need to be so negative. Il Giardinello has almost 100 votes, i guess we should just assume thats fake, too? its one thing to have an opinion and state which place you like and why. its quite another when you have to put someone down. plenty of business in TR to go around, i think. i alternate between joeys and lindas, but since lindas is in manchester, i voted for them in the manchester poll.
Paula buttterfield March 01, 2012 at 05:33 PM
Joey D's got my vote
Joecg March 01, 2012 at 07:53 PM
Joey D's all the way, great bang for your buck, I don't think you could do better in Toms River. Good fresh quality food served with a courteous and thankful smile.
Jane Clover March 01, 2012 at 10:04 PM
Joey D's for me! They have a Brooklyn Grandma pizza that is heavenly! I can honestly say this is the best pizza I've had since I've lived in Brooklyn! Their sauce is UNBELIEVABLE! They should definitely enter the Boss of the Sauce contest coming up. And when it comes to their dinner menu, not only is it delicious, it is such a great bang for your buck! Every time I have gone into this place I am greeted and it feels like your truly part of the family. Oh, and Mr. Negative review up there, if you have ever tried their food you would be voting for Joey D's too! So hmmm, here's a thought, due to all these votes, maybe YOU should try it sometime!
Joecg March 02, 2012 at 02:10 AM
Hey getinvolved1, I was at Joey D's tonight at 6:50 pm and all tables were full, I ordered and got the first table just a couple of minutes before my food came out, perfect and satisfied as usual with my clams marinara.
Catherine Galioto (Editor) March 02, 2012 at 03:26 PM
It looks like the most votes are Joey D's, with 180; Il Giardinello, with 108, and Villa Amalfi, with 55.
Joecg March 02, 2012 at 07:21 PM
Justly deserved. I have been speaking with some friends the last couple of days and they unanimously agree that Joey D's is the place for good quality and satisfying food at a reasonable price. A shame not all of them have access to the internet to vote, i believe their count would have been higher. Congratulations to the owners for setting high standards, keep it up and you will be even more successful. Just a disclaimer, I am not relared to the owners of this establishment in any way and not beeing paid to extoll the virtues of their food, I am just a satisfied customer.
1stcav March 02, 2012 at 09:50 PM
I'll try it , but the votes came in all at the same time , so maybe the STAFF & friends had some thing to do with Da total..I will try ,and get back to ya...Joeybagadonuts is dis your cousin ??? Is he connected ? Bada bing. Nicky Newarker
wildcat6@comcast.net March 09, 2012 at 07:13 PM
You're right! The reason Il Giardello's has the most votes is BECAUSE it always has $$ off coupons in the paper!! It's really not great. Thier wine prices make up for the coupons.
Nicole March 09, 2012 at 08:05 PM
WILDCAT6 - who is Il Giardello? Do you mean Il Giardinello's? If so, what wine prices are you referring to, they don't serve alcohol as they are BYO? I am confused by your post.
irisheyes0201 March 15, 2012 at 02:31 AM
The best kept secret in Toms River is Trattoria Giovanni on Fischer Blvd. , a small BYOB Italian place in a strip mall across from WAWA. Wonderful soups, beautifully prepared dinners at reasonable prices, all fresh food cooked in the healthy Mediterranean style. Friendly staff, and giovanni himself will always be on hand to greet you! It is absolutely THE BEST!!!!
Rick Molinia March 27, 2012 at 03:19 PM
giovanni on fischer blvd is top quality , and maintains excellence in service. il Giardinello is the BEST restaurant in toms river... if u have ate there then you know why, if u haven't yet.. stop and grab a bottle from ur local spirits and prepare ur pallet for exquisite experience! its a shame "joey d's" is on the same list.!!! obviously a local pizza joint like all the others with alberto rodriguez cooking your chicken parm which has been in their freezer for weeks.....
Cosma December 07, 2012 at 12:25 AM
Villa Amilfi too expensive and not good italian food.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something