.

Letter: Toms River Needs a Skate Park

Supporters looking for more community support

Statement as released by Intensity Skate Crew of Toms River:

Toms River school students tired of getting kicked out of every parking lot around town for skateboarding formed a petition, went door to door and presented pages of signatures to the Township asking that the Toms River Town Council “Consider” the establishment of a “Skate Park” in Toms River. Two weeks after and members of “Intensity Skate Crew” presented their petition at the Recreation Departments Committee meeting, “Skate Park” was added to the ballot.

With some school districts now incorporating “Skateboarding” into their physical education curriculums, and Toms River the 7th largest municipality in New Jersey, with around 17,000 school age students and having zero skate parks, it was time somebody did something, and the kids realized that they were somebody.

If they can muster enough community support, they can make it happen.

Lee and Bernard Viggiani and the Intensity Skate Crew

Toms River

Bernard Viggiani June 04, 2012 at 05:21 PM
Please see: http://www.fox40.com/videogallery/67208003/News/VIDEO-Special-Needs-Kids-Given-Chance-To-Learn-How-To-Skateboard-Dave-Malkoff
Shelly June 04, 2012 at 05:40 PM
Thanks for the link. A handful of high-functioning autistic kids are able to stand on a skateboard and ride it with assistance. Commendable. However, how does this benefit scores of physically AND mentally disabled kids? How is a child with severe CP or MD going to benefit from skateboarding? Put some funds into making playgrounds accessible for all children. It will do more good than offering a hour or two a week for a few children within a limited "special needs" range to ride skateboards. That's my opinion.
Bernard Viggiani June 04, 2012 at 06:19 PM
I am not on the recreation committee so I can not speak for them but I can report to you that there are two members of the disabilities community appointed to that committee. I believe topics like the ones you speak of are discussed at these meetings as the Recreation Department moves forward with future plans. You can contact me through email at the contact us link atTomRiverSkatePark.org for more information that may be of interest to you.
Bob Hockenfrocken June 04, 2012 at 06:48 PM
Toms River needs to maintain the parks we have, not add a skate-park so people can sue the township when their "little Jimmy" breaks his leg.
Grumpy Old Man June 05, 2012 at 12:01 AM
The businesses that sell "Skate Boards" should be responsible for providing a "Safe" place to use them,preferably on their own property.
So Much to Say June 05, 2012 at 12:11 AM
All cases of towns who bilt them at huge taxpayer expense then had to close and dismantle their skate parks at huge taxpayer expense. All riddled with vandalism, drug and alcohol use. Do we really need this in Toms River? HECK NO. http://www.pressofatlanticcity.com/news/top_three/article_855e2dfc-0e80-11df-ba90-001cc4c002e0.html http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2010/04/point_pleasant_closes_skate_pa.html http://fairlawn.patch.com/articles/council-tabs-former-walsh-pool-area-for-skate-park http://www.jacksonnjonline.com/2009/08/31/why-was-the-jackson-skate-park-closed/5117/ http://www.southrivernj.org/TC-agendas-minutes/2010/council_minutes_12-13-10.pdf http://www.shorenewstoday.com/snt/news/index.php/ocean-city-general-news/19020-mayor-skateboard-park-will-return.html http://www.salemnews.com/local/x143598307/Grant-would-pay-for-camera-at-skateboard-park
So Much to Say June 05, 2012 at 12:13 AM
Send an email to the Mayor and town council, let them know NO FREAKEN WAY! TKelaher@tomsrivertownship.com; MHill@tomsrivertownship.com BKubiel@tomsrivertownship.com jsevastakis@tomsrivertownship.com mmaruca@tomsrivertownship.com gwittmann@tomsrivertownship.com
So Much to Say June 05, 2012 at 01:24 AM
How horrible to use a video of mentally challenged children to make your point. Have you ever taken your kids to The Incline Club on Locust Street, Lakewood? I had to leave because their were older kids there doing the ramps like they had a death wish. No concern for the younger children and nobody to end their madness. This is an indoor facility with full time employees. I wasn't about to see my kids severly injured bacause of a kid on a death mission. Take your kids to Brick or Incline Club. NO SKATEPARK IN TOMS RIVER!!!!!
. June 05, 2012 at 03:27 AM
How about fixing and repaving some of the streets that we have to drive our cars on before we spend more money on another recreational facility?
Richard J. Thomas June 05, 2012 at 11:39 AM
No way do we need a skate park in Toms River. I'd rather my tax dollars be spent on something needed by the entire community. Put it on the next ballot so the citizens can vote it down.
SB Girl June 05, 2012 at 12:43 PM
If we need it so much, put it on the ballot in November and see what the public thinks...that's the American way!!
Karen Ann Campbell June 05, 2012 at 09:00 PM
Let me guess you either have no children or they are adults?
Karen Ann Campbell June 05, 2012 at 09:06 PM
This is a huge town with thousands of kids of all different ages. When my children were younger we utilized the recreation department and other more expensive types of recreations. Once they hit middle school and would like to go out on Friday night or Saturday with their friends there is no place for them to go but the mall, movies or ice skating in the colder months. I really don't enjoy the thought of my 15 year old turning into a "mall rat" but she has spent time their with her friends. A skate park is a great idea if it is monitored. As for drugs and vandalism that can happen at any park. We need a safe place where tweens and teens can go to socialize and be with their friends.
Karen Ann Campbell June 05, 2012 at 09:59 PM
The Incline Club and an outdoor skate park will not be the same.
So Much to Say June 05, 2012 at 10:25 PM
I guess you missed the point.....Let me explain......Older kids on skateboards thinking their Evel Kenivil with no concern for the younger childrens safety. Numerous injuries. Supervision is there and the dangerous antics IGNORED. Did you understand this time or do I have to spell it out better?
Karen Ann Campbell June 05, 2012 at 10:44 PM
So Much to Say could you possibly be any nastier? I have been to the Incline Club several times. My children were fine. I took responsibility for MY children in the atmosphere as such it is. Not kids act like "Evil Knievel" when skateboarding. Some kids act like Tony Hawk. But that being said all older kids are going to push the limits whether they are at a pool, park, skatepark etc. More experienced at what they are doing. Accidents can happen walking across the street. There is no place to skateboard in Toms River. It is an ever growing popular sport. If your children are too young to be there then take them someplace else. Castle Park, the new park farther down on North Bay, the one in Silverton. But guess what there are bigger kids there acting wild also. You are responsible for your children and not the other kids and their dangerous antics as you like to call them. These antics are part of the sport. I have three girls who are no longer interested in this sort of skating. They like long boarding. But to discriminate against these kids in a huge town like this is horrible.
Landes June 06, 2012 at 04:12 AM
Ok, so here we go again, 2 parks all done up on the other side of town, No park over on the East side of town. Why? Do we not rate, do we not pay taxes, or are we just an after thought? A skate park, really, no a new girls softball field and a new payground on the other side of town. Guess Vaughn Ave park was not good enough to make nicer. Please be careful what you wish for, I really thing some consideration for the WHOLE community should be in the cards.
Karen Ann Campbell June 07, 2012 at 12:10 AM
YOU are segregating yourself. Go to the "other side" of town. Do you realize most towns only have one park? Go to Shelter Cove it is not huge but it is nice. I am from Toms River not East Toms River, where are you from?
Landes June 07, 2012 at 01:59 AM
The town has already done that with the 2 parks on North Bay Ave! Shelter Cove is NOT a park for children to run & play. Shelter Cove is a beautiful facility, but not like Castle Park or the other NEW one just down the road. Where is the one for the other side of town. Nothing wrong with being or living on the eastern part of town, just stating the facts, WHERE IS OUR PARK, all done up? The children cannot ride a bike to or even walk to in some circumstances. East Dover is an area filled with children without the facilities offered to others, the parks dept. planning is quite poor ar best. Please get your FACTS straight before you accuse someone with segregating themselves or others!
Karen Ann Campbell June 07, 2012 at 02:51 AM
You are segregating yourself by continually referring to the other side of town or that you are on the East side of town. Toms River one town. And no Shelter Cove is not like Castle Park but it is beautiful and there are two playgrounds there. I have my facts straight. I can ride a bike to Shelter Cove and when my children want to go to a bigger park we go. Get in the car and go to the park, not the other side of town as you see it. YOUR park are the parks in town. Do they ask you for ID and chase you away when you see that you live in the East Dover section of town???? For a long time when they took down Castle Park the only parks were Shelter Cove and Silverton had a little dinky park. When I was a kid Shelter Cove was the only place in town to go. If you are so unhappy about having to get in your car to drive to a park why don't you start a committee to raise a park in the East Dover section of town. We still need a skate park for the older kids talk about having no place to go. Why is everyone on here so anonymous and angry??
So Much to Say June 07, 2012 at 03:48 AM
Because we don't want to pay for something that will be eventually torn down. We don't want to be sued because someone got injured, We don't want our police overtaxed by babysitting a bunch of disrespectful angry kids. We don't want to look over and see our tax money riddled with graffitti. That's why we are angry!!!
So Much to Say June 07, 2012 at 03:49 AM
Karen you mentioned you have girls with long boards, do you really think they'll be welcome....NO. Then what a skatepark just for the girls.
Bernard Viggiani June 07, 2012 at 03:53 AM
Some towns have established Skate Friendly Areas called "Skate Spots" inside or adjacent to existing parks. This way a parent with different age kids can sort of be in two places at the same time. And older kids who can't drive can get to one because every neighborhood park can have one. Very inexpensive. The Safe Skate Spots are just some flat area in a safe spot with some ledges, rails, even a Jersey Barrier and some concrete parking lot bumpers. It's stuff they want to skate on and off of (but usually get chased from) - some are very simple and some are like a mini Street Course. This is something to consider. The full scale Skate Park or Plaza with bigger ramps, walls etc. is a larger project and would take some time if feasible and if approved. With this combination approach we achieve the objective of getting kids off the streets and out of parking lots and into safe areas out of traffic etc., with equal distribution around town. It's just a suggestion.
Landes June 07, 2012 at 04:26 AM
I live here, I work here and I pay taxes here, the planning board did not plan, plain and simple! Angry, no anonymous maybe. Two beautiful parks 1 mile apart, give or take are they for real? Yes, Toms River is my town one park centrally located fine, two on the same road, who's ingenious idea was this? Shelter Cove is the beach. The fact that you accused me of segregating because I live on the east side of town is your perception. I DID NOT segregate at all, the township did by treating one area different than another, period. Go take a ride see the new park, all I said was where is ours. And as I said earlier the WHOLE community needs to be taken into consideration!
Karen Ann Campbell June 07, 2012 at 04:36 AM
Someone falling off the climbing rocks at Castle Park, can't sue? Getting gouged by a skate at Winding River, can't sue? Long boards are for flat surfaces and racing not for skate parks. My girls with long boards are older and have no interest in a skate park at all. My younger one is just getting interested and no I don't think we need to keep boys and girls apart. If she wants to go there she will have to have the proper gear and be tough enough. And I will be there. We live in such a litigious society that you can be sued for anything. Where have you gotten your impression of skate boarders? In Line? Anywhere else? Is is so closed minded to think that they all are angry and disrespectful? Have it fenced in and lock it down at dusk. Put it by the police station like the one in Barnegat. I am pretty sure there can be some system set in place. Charge for a tag like they do for the beach. If someone can sit at Shelter Cove to collect money why not someone at the skate park to monitor? As far as I am concerned I am a nobody in Toms River but a tax payer and since we are having this discussion on here neither are you. Our opinions in regard to the big picture mean nothing. Whatever the powers that be decide will be.
Karen Ann Campbell June 07, 2012 at 04:43 AM
What is done is done. They built the parks in high profile areas to show off the parks. No one would know they were there if one was up at Skyview. I am 44 years old and drove up to Skyview for the first time last week. It is abysmal. Would be a perfect place for a pool club with a playground. Too bad it will never happen.
Karen Ann Campbell June 07, 2012 at 04:48 AM
Little Jimmy can break his leg at Castle Park have you ever seen the craziness and ill behaved children that are there with Mommy looking on. Or while skating at Winding River, playing tennis, you can get injured anywhere. I understand the point that the skate park carries a higher liability but there would have to be rules in place. Skate at your own risk. Badges sold like for the beach and parents would have to sign off regarding assumed risk. I have to sign a waiver for every activity my children have ever done. So why should this be any different?
steve June 08, 2012 at 03:06 AM
Im a fellow "toms river skater" and my parents pay taxes just like everyone's elses, there are plenty of baseball fields for kids to play at so no windows or anything broken. Though when i skate the town is very quick to issue out fines/tickets. Give us kids a place to ride and OUT OF THE STREET!
max June 08, 2012 at 03:17 PM
So Much To Say....if your kids went to the Incline Club and you took them and left because you didn't like them doing tricks, wouldn't you be for the skatepark so your kids have somewhere to skate and have fun with out so many people not paying attention?
max June 08, 2012 at 03:31 PM
I want the public to see the arrogance displayed from So Much To Say. I don't think he or she really needs to be mean to Karen when she did not say anything bad and was stating her opinion.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something