.
News Alert
Suspected 'Red Bull' Robbers From Toms River Wawa …

Three Seasons In, What Do We Think of MTV's Jersey Shore Now?

What effects locally have you seen?

The high tide (or is it low?) of MTV's Jersey Shore, the third season, is going on now. Filmed over last summer in Seaside Heights and now airing , who among us doesn't know what the show is all about and have a strong opinion of it.

But today we are not asking you to review the show and wax philosophical the quality of television programming, per se.

Instead our Question of the Day asks you to point out your opinion on how this show has shaped us locally. What are you seeing happen to our area as a result of this show, now that we are three seasons into it?

Maybe you were heartbroken to see the cast go somewhere, knowing now that the place would be mobbed by the show's fans.

Maybe you are glad to see the area get any attention, and noticed a strong surge of tourists this summer and are hoping for more of the same this year.

Where do you stand?

MIC March 04, 2011 at 04:45 PM
It doesnt to have the same flare as the first season, and it seems like they are trying to hard. They really should try some of the local drinking customs instead of going out to karma all the time. Id like to see them try an old school broadwalk tour (sawmill, jack&bills, beachcomer, beach bar, spiceys, jrs , jimbos. aztec, rj's, then to the boulvard with hooks, riggers, probaly hemming ways, karma, bamboo etc. ) too bad that some of the bars are gone like the wine cellar, frankie and johnnys etc. I know its hard to keep up with the locals but they could try. I can do with out all the inside realtionship drama as well.
Billabong March 04, 2011 at 06:56 PM
It hasn't shaped us one bit locally. It's definitely helped shape the perception of us outside of the state - and definitely not for the better. In just the last year alone, I can't tell you how many people outside of the NJ/NY/PA area have made cracks to me about our state thanks to the show. When I've tried to educate them about the real Jersey Shore (dedicated year-round surfing, the history of Cape May, sailing among pods of dolphins off Wildwood, the mansions of Spring Lake, etc.) they just roll their eyes and ask if all the girls are like Snooki.
MIC March 04, 2011 at 07:41 PM
dispite what ever us locals think about the show, it has brought bucks back to the shore. Which is really the only good thing coming from that tv show. Shore towns were all built off of tourism and the vistors from far and near. They may display a bad image but in my worldly travels this year everone knows where seaside is and im pretty confident the SHPD can handle the crowd.
R. Mc March 04, 2011 at 08:36 PM
Only a handful of the bars would allow the cameras in. They had to get permission before they could go anywhere.
want2say March 04, 2011 at 08:36 PM
@MIC -- i am afraid that bunch of cads and hos would just ruin anyplace they go. leave all the good places for the locals. at least we know the one place they go to strut is BAD karma and we can stay away from it!
Diane Clayton March 04, 2011 at 08:57 PM
I would love to see some hard numbers that either prove or disprove an increase of tourism dollars to Seaside since the show began running.
MIC March 04, 2011 at 09:12 PM
My main point is that we as locals have a much better time with what we got then just the big name places in seaside. Its also hard to beleive that any bar in the hieghts would not want free advetizing on that show. Im not for the show beacuse its misrepresented starting witht he name, it should be call BENNIES (BNENY" or "BENNY" for the towns of Bayonne, Elizabeth, Newark, and New York). I think that as long as the benefit to the city is greater then the risk they will allow it. Im sure you if looked at the money trends from 2005 -2010 on tickets, parking meters, civil penalites, rental houses , small store income, large store income, board walk income, and beach badges you would a rise over the last 2 years. It certainly isnt pushing away more people , like seaside park is. They are slowly killing that town, itll be a private communtiy soon.
walter March 05, 2011 at 03:20 AM
I agree totally with Billabong in that everywhere I go, I have to defend the area I grew up in. No one wants to hear about the beautiful bay, the sugar sand beaches, fresh caught fish, handsome old houses, the nice families who have lived here for generations, etc. The global assumption NOW is that we are all noisy ill educated Italians from north Jersey. The show does have appeal, as you'll find if you actually watch it consistently; it has almost the same flavor as the old kids' shows from the 50s and 60s - oddly enough. As for increased revenue, very likely that's true for area businesses, but residents of Seaside Heights are not seeing any improvements on the municipal level due to the show. Sorry for lengthy comments.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »