.

Inspectors Still Reviewing Outages

State and township inspectors are certifying whether power can be turned on in Windsor Park, Green Island and parts of Silverton.

State inspectors are now in Toms River Township to help local officials and Jersey Central Power & Light in areas still without power to ensure that storm damage has not compromised homes, the township said on its Website.

Inspectors are conducting house-to-house inspections in Windsor Park, Green Island and sections of Silverton today and will continue until completion, the township said.  Each home must be individually certified that the power can be turned on.

The township said power will begin to return to those residents once inspections are completed and affected homes have been identified.

 

Martin November 12, 2012 at 10:17 PM
Incompetent! JCP&L man in truck looked up at transformer on pole in street (never gout out oif truck). This afternoon they must have tried to turn on power, becase the transformer exploded 3 times and then caught fire. P.S. Inspectors were at my house this morning, saying I needed an electrician to certify service is OK. They took my "out of date" meter away. How long will I wait for a new one?.
Denidemo November 12, 2012 at 10:54 PM
how will they inspect homes of those who are not at home????
Toms River Mom November 13, 2012 at 01:01 AM
Okay, so is someone going to contact me to get my service inspected on Alabama Avenue since I can not live in the house presently???
joanna p November 13, 2012 at 01:19 AM
Bottom line is they are incompetent. System is out dated and they need more than so called state inspectors going home to home.my husband works for a major utility co.n they have already sent there out of state help home...
Sandy Anagnostis-Peace November 13, 2012 at 01:53 AM
Massive joke!
Denidemo November 13, 2012 at 02:04 AM
When I called JCPL they gave me a FEMA number to call. Told me they could not connect power unless FEMA inspected the property. Gave me the wrong number, but courteous and patient FEMA personnel finally connected me to the right number. Waiting for FEMA inspector to call now to schedule the inspection.
Martin November 13, 2012 at 02:20 AM
FEMA property inspector said she'd send an elec. inspector to my house. The procedures for a lot of this disaster recovery needs to be spelled out publicly.
Linda Lil November 13, 2012 at 02:22 AM
sorry to say I went to the fema help center personally. I was told that fema has no control over what jcpl does. please recheck your source. good luck.
Martin November 13, 2012 at 02:27 AM
Elderly neighbor needs help: He lost house contents & car. Registered with FEMA but confused by electrical, gas, mold and other problems. Can TR and/or OC Senior/Aging Services or any other agency counsel him -- ASAP? I think he's getting heart palpitations trying to cope with this big mess. Who do you call?
Sue Peel November 13, 2012 at 03:24 AM
Try Ocean County Office on Aging: Ocean (732-929-2091) Ocean County Office of Senior Services 1027 Hooper Avenue, Building #2 PO Box 2191 Toms River, NJ 08754-2191
Ray C. November 13, 2012 at 03:56 AM
I know this situation is tough on those without power, but can we stop calling the guys trying to turn the power back on "incompetent"? Show me the guide these guys should be using to re-establish a county-wide power grid after the worst storm in recorded history. Many of these guys are still from out-of-town doing the best they can with a disaster few have ever seen. Yell at the politicians (where's my Congressman Jon Runyan? Oh, that's right, sitting on his bike at his political HQ in Burlington County), yell at the power company bureaucrats who swear every time that they're ready for this storm, but leave the guys climbing the poles and risking their health alone. I feel awful for those still without power, but calling the pole guys incompetent isn't going to help.
BL November 13, 2012 at 10:59 AM
I was told by jcp&l that my house was flooded on brand road so my power could not be turned on. I was not, however, flooded yet a friend of mine who had water in his house and is not living in his house now has power. This is so screwed up.
Gus Brandstetter Sr. November 13, 2012 at 11:36 AM
The towns and JCP&L are worried homes may catch fire if the electrical system was flooded with salt water. This happened near my kid's home. So he and hundreds of his neighbors are without power again after JCP&L shut down his section. I have a home that was flooded. The town put a red sticker on the electric meter and notified JCP&L to pull the meter. I got an electrician to come out and cut all the wires and install one GFI outlet. He gave me a letter certifying my one outlet was safe and the others were disconnected. The town is now OK with what I have. I have electric to one outlet to do repairs. Many outlets and the control panel were under water but not the meter. If your meter was under water the you probably need a new one.
Stanley Goscombe November 14, 2012 at 08:07 AM
Checking for news on Gail Henry of Giordano. I heard that Comcast communications (e-Mail and 'phone lines) were down and messages were being returned marked undeliverable. I just wanted to know how she is. I am a friend from the United Kingdom. Any news would be welcome. Many thanks. Stanley
Stanley Goscombe November 14, 2012 at 08:12 AM
PS. That might be Gorginio Drive not Giordano - the handwriting wasn't easy to read!
hergirler December 01, 2012 at 04:17 AM
The corpse is apparently well http://www.coachoutletonlinegg.com preserved: a young woman, lying face down, http://www.coachoutletonlineaol.net shielding her face with her hands at the moment http://www.coachfactoryoutletwy.com of death. Her dress has risen up http://www.coachoutletstorefc.com and is tangled around her waist, her bare http://www.coachoutletaol.org legs exposed beneath.She is currently on display at http://www.coachfactoryoutetmp.com the J Paul Getty Museum in Malibu, as the first http://www.coachoutletns.com exhibit in a show that explores the ways that http://www.coachoutletstoreonlineys.net modern artists - from Francesco Piranesi http://www.coachfactoryonlineest.net to Anthony Gormley - have responded http://www.coachfactoryoutletpst.com to history's most famous volcanic eruption. "Welcome to http://www.coachoutletonlinetc.com Pompeii," she is meant to say. "The city of the dead".

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »