.

Latest Ocean County Health Inspections of Restaurants, Grocers

Ocean County Health Department inspections for the week

As inspections of restaurants, eateries, grocers and food suppliers are conducted, the posts the inspection results to its website.

The list of recent inspections can be found here.

According to the county health department, an inspection could result in a Satisfactory, Conditional Satisfactory and Unsatisfactory rating.

Here is the health department's explanation of the ratings:

  • Satisfactory - Is in substantial compliance with State Health Codes.
  • Conditional Satisfactory - Needs improvement in several areas - as determined by the licensed inspector and interpretation of the State Health Codes. A time limit is set for the establishment to come into compliance and a re-inspection is done in order to assure this compliance
  • Unsatisfactory - Serious or unsafe conditions/violations of the health codes set by the State Of New Jersey.

Click here for an archive of recent inspections.

christine January 29, 2012 at 12:51 PM
Not all Chinese Reataurants are nasty the Peking 88 in Brick is imaculate and great food but I know what al are saying about chinese places most of them are nasty
Fran January 29, 2012 at 01:46 PM
The sad thing is that even with 'appointments' for the inspections, the results of those inspections from the link are pretty scary. Most are conditional satisfactory or returning to satisfactory (meaning they weren't satisfactory or even conditional satisfactory previously?).
John Wayne January 29, 2012 at 04:16 PM
It is pretty scary when schools are on it. G. Harold Elementary and Beach High School along with other schools and local restaurants? Some are on there a few times, such as the Ark, Waffle and More, Uncle Vinny's etc.... Oh boy, is it these inspectors? Or are their legitimate concerns, I would like to know exactly what these restaurants and schools are allowing to go on that they should not. Give some examples what and why the inspector is turning them down.
orgjrzgrl January 29, 2012 at 04:24 PM
I havent been there in years because the last time I was there with my family I used the ladies room and there was a kitchen employee in the stall and when they were finished they never washed their hands, would not ever go back because of that.
concerned citizen January 29, 2012 at 05:40 PM
Inspectors check for everything from fridge temps to dust on hanging lamps to water temp for dishwashers to food scraps left on window sills by customers. They are pretty thorough with their inspections.
concerned citizen January 29, 2012 at 05:48 PM
I would also like to answer Lucy with her comment on the Rainbow Diner. I have been eating there over 40 years. I have NEVER had a problem with either their food OR the management there. I ordered a prime rib there that was over cooked and the owner explained that the whole roast was over cooked. He GAVE me a roast beef dinner and did not charge me for either one. As far as I am concerned, it is the best place in Brick to eat.
Beach_N8iv January 29, 2012 at 08:16 PM
I would just LOVE to see the Health Department inspect the kitchens of those who comment here.
Janet January 30, 2012 at 12:57 AM
Chevy's Mexican Restaurant Brick best Mexican food in NJ. Only closing to open a new chain. If you want coffee go to McDonalds and bring your lunch to work.
orgjrzgrl January 30, 2012 at 01:10 AM
Didnt say Chevys had bad food, I loved their food, esp the tomatilla, but dirty unwashed hands grosses me out, I know what you dont know dont hurt you but when you see it first hand its hard to pass on that. I love Mexican, try El Tenampa in Brick and Toms River, very good food also.
orgjrzgrl January 30, 2012 at 01:15 AM
You can come inspect my kitchen anytime, I guarantee I would pass with flying colors, my hands are always clean, as well as my counters and sink, coming from a family that owned a restaurant that you could literally eat off the floors rubbed off on me, there is NO EXCUSE for uncleanliness, I see too many people using public restrooms that dont wash after using, and my first job as a teen was in food service and the stuff that went on there would never happen if I had owned it, like I said before what you dont know wont hurt you but when you see it outright thats uncalled for.
lucy January 30, 2012 at 04:48 AM
i will show you the pictures if you want
suz January 30, 2012 at 12:51 PM
Eat home and save some money.
darrell January 30, 2012 at 02:05 PM
What is the name of the Mexican Restaurent that closed by Harbor Tools. Isn't that El Tenampa? If it is, that has been closed for awhile. If not, where is it located? Their food was very good.
orgjrzgrl January 30, 2012 at 02:16 PM
Yes it was,didnt know they closed, if so thats too bad, I know they werent open on Mondays, they also have one in Toms River across from Home Depot, Ill be by there today Ill have to check it out
. January 30, 2012 at 04:20 PM
If you think Chevy's is the best Mexican around, you obviously don't know good food. The place was dirty and all of the seats were ripped. No wonder they are closing. By the way, I don't frequent McDonalds either. I think you need to stay away from chain restaurants and eat real food somewhere and see what it is like.
. January 30, 2012 at 04:21 PM
Tenampa isn't closed. They do close on Monday and I know that the place looks dark at times, but they are still there along with their locations in Toms River and Forked River.
orgjrzgrl January 30, 2012 at 07:33 PM
Went by the one in Brick today and the sign is gone as were the tables, didnt know there was one in Forked River, thanks for the heads up. But the best Mexican food is here, my kids and I love to make our own, its cheaper, close and clean LOL!
califwino January 30, 2012 at 09:46 PM
I guess I can understand they might be closed. The last time I was there on 2 talbles were occupied and the food wasn't as good. In fact I felt terrible that night and the next day. Never got sick but sure felt like I was going to, Turned me off from the place.
lucy January 30, 2012 at 11:52 PM
what a moronic comment.
. January 31, 2012 at 12:01 AM
40 years? The Rainbow Diner hasn't been there for 40 years. Their own website states they have been there for twenty years. You must have been eating somewhere else for those other 20 years!
concerned citizen January 31, 2012 at 04:36 AM
The Rainbow Diner HAS been there for over 40 years! It used to be called thr Laurelton Diner when the previous owners Nick & Gus owned it. Years ago, the mayor of Brick owned that diner. I know exactly where I am eating!
Sean Conneamhe January 31, 2012 at 05:15 AM
"A mayor of Point Pleasant once owned the Laurelton Diner, which was demolished about 20 years and was replaced by a new building, the current Rainbow Diner."
concerned citizen January 31, 2012 at 04:31 PM
Sorry, I thought it was a Brick mayor but my memory is getting weaker with age. I did know that a mayor owned it though...LOL
Jay C. January 31, 2012 at 06:13 PM
If I recall, the old diner actually burned down, and the current diner was built in its place. Both the Rainbow and Ocean Queen (or Brick Diner, as it's now called) seem to have "accidental" fires every few years.
concerned citizen January 31, 2012 at 07:58 PM
Yes they do. Whenever they want to remodel....LOL
Linz January 31, 2012 at 08:46 PM
La Casa Del Sol in Seaside only came out unsatisfactory in August 2011 because they had a fire and burnt down a few days before. It's really misleading. They sinced reopened at the White Pearl and passed all inspections. Food is great and it's very clean!
Ken G January 31, 2012 at 08:52 PM
thats gross! PLEASE tell me you submitted them!
darrell January 31, 2012 at 11:37 PM
I would like to try La Casa. Heard alot of good things about them. Where is the White Pearl located?
. February 20, 2012 at 09:30 PM
By your own admission it wasn't the Rainbow Diner, it was the Laurelton Diner. It also had different owners, so how does that make the Rainbow Diner there for 40 years. A differnent name with different owners makes it a different diner.
Carol Kettle February 12, 2013 at 06:14 PM
Beging your pardon, it was the mayor of Point Pleasant who owned it back then...Pierre Xarros. Was a personal friend of his daughter. Diners today, especially in this area, are poor excuses for diners! There's no consistancey at all. sometimes it's great...next time it might suck, etc.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something